Roswitha Haftmann Stiftung

Press Release Zurich, 14 March 2002

Kunsthaus Zürich: Maria Lassnig receives the Roswitha Haftmann Prize

Today the Austrian artist Maria Lassnig will receive the Roswitha Haftmann Prize. Valued at CHF 120,000 this is one of the most generous prizes open to visual artists worldwide.

Dr Felix Baumann, Chairman of the Board of the Roswitha Haftmann-Stiftung (set up by the Zurich gallerist Roswitha Haftmann who died in 1998) will present the Prize to Maria Lassnig at a special Award Ceremony in the Auditorium of the Kunsthaus Zürich. The laudatio will be delivered by Thomas Deecke (Neues Museum Weserburg Bremen).

Maria Lassnig is the second recipient of the Roswitha Haftmann Prize, following Walter de Maria who was the first prizewinner in autumn 2000. Born in 1919 in Kappel, Carinthia, Lassnig became known above all in Switzerland for her exhibitions in the Kunsthaus Luzern, the Kunstmuseum Bern and the Kunsthalle Bern.

The Roswitha Haftmann-Stiftung awards this prize every two years to a living artist whose work is of outstanding artistic significance. Maria Lassnig was chosen in autumn 2001 as this year's prizewinner by the Board of the Roswitha Haftmann-Stiftung whose members – besides Dr Felix Baumann – are Dr Christoph Becker (Director of the Kunsthaus Zürich), Dr Bernhard M. Bürgi (Director of the Kunstmuseum Basel), Dr Katharina Schmidt (former Director of the Kunstmuseum Basel), Toni Stooss, (former Director of the Kunstmuseum Bern), the art historian Dr Ludmila Vachtova and Dr Evelyn Weiss, Deputy Director of the Museums Ludwig, Cologne.

For further information, please contact Kunsthaus Zürich Press and Communication Björn Quellenberg Tel.: +41 (0) 1 253 84 84 Fax: +41 (0) 1 253 84 33 bjoern.quellenberg@kunsthaus.ch

> c/o Kunsthaus Zürich Winkelwiese 4 Postfach CH-8024 Zürich

Tel. 01 253 84 84 Fax 01 253 84 33